Committee Members

The Landscape Architects Technical Committee (LATC) was created pursuant to Assembly Bill (AB) 1546, which became effective January 1, 1998. The Committee was statutorily established under the jurisdiction of the California Architects Board (Board). Its purpose is to act in an advisory capacity to the Board on examination and other matters pertaining to the regulation of the practice of landscape architecture in California.

The five-member committee consists of technical experts who are licensed to practice landscape architecture in this state. Under the provisions of AB 1546, the Governor appoints three of the members, one is appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules, and one is appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly.

The Department of Consumer Affairs maintains a webpage where existing members can access resources and the requirements of their membership. In addition, interested applicants can research vacancies and apply for membership in a Consumer Affairs entity.

Committee Chair | Governor Appointee | Landscape Architect Member

Marq Truscott
Marq Truscott

Marq Truscott is currently the Committee Chair. He is a Partner at ATLAS Lab, a landscape architecture, public art and community design consulting firm and has practiced landscape architecture for over 35 years. In addition, he is currently the Chairman of Urban Land Institute (ULI), Sacramento. A member of the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) for three decades, Marq has held many positions at the chapter, state and national levels. He was elevated to the status of Fellow of the Society in 2011 for his service to the profession and serves as the Chair of the Council of Fellows. Marq is also currently serving on the Board of the Friends of Light Rail and Transit. He holds a Bachelor of Science in landscape architecture from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona and has completed advanced studies in project management and real estate development.

Committee Vice-Chair | Governor Appointee | Landscape Architect Member

Andrew C. Bowden
Andrew C. Bowden

Andrew C. Bowden was appointed by Governor Brown on May 24, 2012 after having previously served as an LATC member from 2007-2010 as a gubernatorial appointee under the Schwarzenegger administration. Mr. Bowden has been a licensed landscape architect since 1979. He has worked at Land Concern, LTD since 1976, serving as Principal / Landscape Architect since 2000. His innovative design solutions have been reflected in a variety of noteworthy projects ranging from large scale master planned residential communities, parks, and swim/recreation facilities, to both high and low density residential neighborhoods and senior housing/assisted living developments. He is a two time past Chapter President of the Southern California Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects as well as a past Chapter Trustee, serving two consecutive terms, and was elevated to the status of Fellow of the Society in 2018 for his service to the profession. He is currently the Chair of the UCLA Landscape Architecture Program Guidance Committee as well as a member of the Board of Directors of the California Landscape Architectural Student Scholarship Fund (CLASS Fund). Mr. Bowden earned an Associate of Science in Nursery and Landscape Technology from San Diego Mesa College in 1974 and a Bachelor of Science in Landscape Architecture from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona in 1977.

His term expires on June 1, 2019.

Committee Member | Governor Appointee | Landscape Architect Member

Patricia M. Trauth
Patricia M. Trauth

Patricia M. Trauth is currently a Committee Member and was appointed by Governor Brown on June 5, 2015. She is an Associate Principal for RICK Engineering and manages the landscape architecture business line throughout their ten offices in the west. She joined RICK Engineering in February, 2016. As a licensed landscape architect in California, a certified planner and a LEED accredited professional, she has planned and designed numerous public projects throughout Southern California and the Denver region. Her projects have received awards from organizations including ASLA, CMAA, ASCE, APWA, ULI, APA and NAVFAC. Ms. Trauth was the President of the San Diego Chapter of American Society of Landscape Architects in 2014 and has been actively involved in the organization for a number of years including two terms as Vice President. She has also served on the board of the South County Economic Development Council and remains an active member in the organization and was the Statewide President of California Women in Environmental Design. Ms. Trauth has taught landscape architecture at San Diego State University, the NewSchool of Architecture & Design, and Mesa Community College. Ms. Trauth graduated from Bowling Green State University with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Design and a Bachelor of Science in Education in 1979. She has a Master of Landscape Architecture from the University of Arizona which she acquired in 1987.

She was reappointed and her term will expire on June 1, 2022.

Committee Member | Assembly Appointee | Landscape Architect Member

Susan M. Landry -- Photo Pending

Susan M. Landry is currently a Committee Member, appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly in May 2018. As a landscape architect, she specializes in Public Projects, working with various constituents to develop innovative design solution. Her clients, in part, include: Cities of San Jose, Morgan Hill, and Milpitas; County of Santa Clara, Local School Districts, Santa Clara University, Santa Clara Valley Water District, and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. She is the sole proprietor of Environmental Edges, a landscape architecture firm in Campbell. Her emphasis is on the wise and equitable use of our diminishing resources, creating projects that foster healthy environments with creative design solutions representative of diverse interests and viewpoints. Her outdoor environments include parks, playgrounds, schools, colleges, universities, creek trails, habitat restorations and transit corridors. Susan resides in Campbell in the heart of Silicon Valley. Active in her community, she is very concerned about the future and the quality of life. She felt her career and work experience might help by becoming a member of the Campbell City Council which is tasked with crafting sensible and sustainable growth, maintaining fiscal stability, while retaining a cherished small-town charm. Susan was elected to the City Council in 2016 and is currently Vice Mayor. In this role she serves as the Chair of Santa Clara County’s Recycling and Waste Reduction Committee and is a member of Santa Clara County Water District’s Policy Advisory Committee. Susan holds a BSLA from California Poly Pomona, 1985.